After trying Smothered Pork Chops which were an instant hit in our family I kept an eye on other ‘smothered something’ recipes. Sure enough, while looking through Cook’s Country magazines I found a recipe for… smothered cabbage. The recipe looked really simple and used only 5 ingredients, not including salt and pepper. Well, this cabbage turned out to be one of my favorite side dishes. I would place it somewhere in the top 3 range. This one is a definite keeper. So far I’ve tried this side dish with smoked pork butt, brisket, rotisserie chicken and chicken francese and every time it felt like a perfect match. The cabbage comes out very tender with a slight crunch. Combined with the buttery softness of the waxy potatoes it makes a great contrast to grilled or pan-fried meat and poultry. There is a slight touch of sweetness and a hint of tang to this dish that make it so delicious. I can just eat it on its own without any meat.

If you want to make this smothered cabbage to become a meal on its own, try adding some smoked kielbasa or andouille sausage for that Cajun/Creole taste. I’ve been smoking those in my little smokehouse, they are a delicious addition to many meals. I updated the original recipe to optionally include sausage, it adds a ton of flavor to this dish. Looking for more delicious vegetable side dish recipes? Check these out:

Scrumptious Roasted Vegetables Roasted Beets and Carrots with Feta Vegetable Stir Fry

 

Smothered Cabbage Recipe - 92Smothered Cabbage Recipe - 97Smothered Cabbage Recipe - 21