This paleo smoked salmon salad cake is one of my favorite dishes – it’s healthy, it’s easy to make, it’s delicious and it’s visually appealing, full of bright vibrant colors. I got the inspiration from a traditional to Russia and other Slavic countries dish, which is made inside a deep dish and which uses pickled herring in place of salmon. I think that the brightly colored salmon makes this dish so much more colorful and elegant, and so does the cake shape. I also wanted to make this dish healthier and paleo friendly, so I am using paleo mayonnaise for this recipe.  I found dozens of recipes for paleo mayonnaise on the Internet – it’s quite easy to make and it tastes amazing, too. Now, the opinions are split on whether smoke salmon is paleo, but it appears that the tendency is to accept that it is paleo, though it should be considered a treat and consumed in moderation.

You will notice that I am not using any salt or spices in this salad cake. With smoked salmon being on the salty side, it’s saltiness balances out nicely with other ingredients. As to the spices, this salad is so flavorful on its own that there is barely any need to add or enhance flavors. You can, however, add your favorite spices if you desire. To shape the cake I used a 6 inch springform cake pan, it’s works beautifully for this recipe.

 

Smoked Salmon Salad Cake - 13Smoked Salmon Salad Cake - 4Smoked Salmon Salad Cake - 74Smoked Salmon Salad Cake - 27