While thousands of ethnic dishes have been successfully adapted to our Western palates, we still seek authenticity and value it over convenience of using readily available local ingredients, taking shortcuts during preparation and enjoying familiar tastes.  Sometimes, when trying authentic dishes, I fall in love with them so much that I make my best to recreate them at home and save the recipes in my recipe box for future use. This minestrone soup is one such example. Recently, on a night out, I tried this fabulously tasting soup at a local Italian restaurant. It’s rich and complex taste, complemented by a hint of smoky bacon, just blew my taste buds away. I complimented the chef on the soup and asked to tell me more about it. He smiled and said: “It’s minestrone Triestino. The best! My family used this recipe for generations”. As soon as I got home I began my search in an effort to recreate this delicious soup at home. The minestrone Triestino, or minestrone from Trieste, also known as ‘jota’, is a traditional dish in Italy’s north-eastern region of Friuli-Venezia Giulia, in particular in the cities of Trieste and Gorizia.  Originally, this was a peasant dish and was prepared with simple ingredients. This minestrone is tasty and comforting, and peasants liked to enjoy it on cold winter evenings. However, the delightful soup eventually became popular across the entire region and beyond, no matter what season. There are numerous variations of minestrone from Trieste, from ingredients to methods of preparation. Some versions use more beans. Some add corn or barley to the traditional recipe, while others add sauerkraut or yellow polenta flour. Vegetables in this soup also vary from season to season based on availability.

My search for an authentic Italian minestrone from Trieste yielded several promising recipes which I eagerly attempted and thoroughly enjoyed. But, only one stood out and reminded me of the minestrone that I tried at the local restaurant. It had the same richness, similar ingredients, the same smoky flavor… I loved it. I hope you enjoy it too. Recipe adapted from Donna Moderna. Recipe translation, ingredient conversions and notes are courtesy of cravingtasty.com.  

Italian Minestrone Soup  Trieste Style  - 69Italian Minestrone Soup  Trieste Style  - 9Italian Minestrone Soup  Trieste Style  - 73