I used to find food made in Instant Pot bland and having a poor texture. That was primarily because in all of my recipes I would add water or some sort of thin liquid, as was instructed in the recipes that I followed. That was a mistake. Surely, you can thicken the liquids after cooking but all that extra stirring just messes up the delicately textured, softened up vegetables.

But I found a solution. Instead, I started adding almost gravy-like liquids to my meats and veggies, and it worked very well. In this recipe, I add a 1/4 cup of flour to 2 cups of beef broth to create a tasty, gravy-like sauce for the beef and the vegetables to pressure cook in. When I want an even thicker sauce, I add a 1/3 cup of flour, it works very well too. To give the dish the maximum flavor, I first sear the beef, then saute the vegetables with some butter and olive oil, adding the flour at the end, and browning it a little. This adds more flavor and prevents the flour from clumping up when adding the broth. This also creates a delicious, velvety gravy. I use the same technique to make braised chicken, braised beef and other dishes.

Out of the pot, after only 25 minutes of cooking, the beef stew is ready to eat. There is no need to thicken the liquid. Just give it a gentle stir, ladle into a bowl and enjoy.

Tips, tricks and variations

Cutting the beef and the vegetables to the right size ensures that both cook properly and that the vegetables retain their definition. I keep it simple and cut the meat and veggies into 1-inch pieces, which works perfectly well in this recipe. I made mustard optional in this recipe as I find that some people like it and some don’t. This stew is excellent and very flavorful without it, but if you like mustard, you will appreciate the added flavor. Try adding leeks. They have a tender texture and add a mild, onion-like taste. If you like cloves, substitute nutmeg for a small pinch of ground cloves. I like its pungent and sweet flavor. It adds warms and a sensation in the mouth similar to that of nutmeg. If you like your beef stew thicker, increase the flour to 1/3 cup. It will give the sauce a gravy-like consistency. Serve with crusty bread, like sourdough rye bread, or whole wheat sourdough bread.

 

Instant Pot Beef Stew - 11Instant Pot Beef Stew - 81Instant Pot Beef Stew - 54Instant Pot Beef Stew - 43