As much as we like to think that we know something about Greek food – we generally don’t. Pastitsio is a very good example. This dish is widely popular in Greek cuisine but I knew nothing about it until fairly recently. I saw a pastitsio recipe online – the final dish looked very appetizing – and I saved it in my ‘things to try’ bookmark folder, only to forget about it for months.

When I finally got back to it and made this amazing Greek dish, I got reminded that Greek cuisine is not all about Greek salad, gyros, spanakopita, tzatziki, taramosalata, moussaka and baklava. This dish is a gem.

If you like lasagna, I urge you to try it. This Greek lasagna is like a typical lasagna, only more delicate and more creamy. This recipe also uses commonly available cheeses in place of more traditional Greek cheeses that are not commonly available here.

Steps in pictures

Pasta layer with eggs, feta and herbs

Mixed together

Meat sauce layer

Bechamel sauce layer topped with grated Gruyere

Fully baked, fresh out of the oven

   

Greek Lasagna  Pastitsio  - 40Greek Lasagna  Pastitsio  - 1Greek Lasagna  Pastitsio  - 24Greek Lasagna  Pastitsio  - 17Greek Lasagna  Pastitsio  - 90Greek Lasagna  Pastitsio  - 74Greek Lasagna  Pastitsio  - 60Greek Lasagna  Pastitsio  - 20Greek Lasagna  Pastitsio  - 83Greek Lasagna  Pastitsio  - 66